The history of the Rechberg race

historisch franz klammerThe first race took place on 10th September 1972. It was attended by 52 motorcycles, five sidecar machines and 47 automobiles. The course record was set up by Erich Breinsberg with 2: 02.87 minutes for this 4 km long track. The race was used for the classification of the Austrian mountain championship. In 1981, for the first time on the track a European mountain championship run and the track record was improved by Michel Pignard to 1: 47.36 minutes.

In 1987, the launch was relocated to the current location in Tulwitz and the length of the mowing has already increased to 4.5 km. The track record on the extended lane was driven by Walter Pedrazza from Vorarlberg with a quick 2: 08.25 minutes.

In 1988, the track was extended again. Since then, the track has been laid at a height of 5050 m by laying the target at the top of the pass, which corresponds to the requirements of the international association. The average gradient of the track is 5.3%. In the same year Herbert Stenger set a new best time (2: 09.85 minutes).

In 2002, the Rechberg race celebrated its 30th anniversary. This year, Josef (Seppi) Neuhauser set a new course record of 1: 59.529 minutes. The Minardi Formula I driver first undercut the two minute limit.

Around 30,000 motor-crazy spectators followed the record-breaking journey of the young Spaniard Ander Vilarino at the 35th International Rechberg Race in 2007. He was the first to finish in four minutes (3: 57.573 minutes). The course record set by Ander Vilarino is 1: 58.149 minutes and could not be broken until today.

In 2009, the Italian Fausto Bormolini (Reynard F3000) impressively took the overall win. He was not able to set the best time of Ander Vilarino, but the journey - with a time of 1: 59.523 - was a great achievement. Furthermore, the premiere of KTM took place. The deployment of the KTM-X-BOW was one of the highlights. Kris Rosenberger won with a quick 2: 26.278 minutes and an average speed of 124.3 km / h.

2010 Simone Faggioli (ITA) celebrated an impressive victory in 2010. He conquered the Rechberg with an average speed of 157.1 km / h. He also set the course record of Ander Vilarino in 2007 with a fulminant 1: 55.690 minutes..

2012 was the 40th anniversary of the Rechberg race.

2014 This year StAMK Z.V. Mürztal the Rechbergrennen already for the 42nd time. Thus, the "Hill Grand Prix of Austria" as the oldest mountain race in Europe! The StAMK Mürztal has already organized a total of 67 mountain races, 25 of them at the Alpl. The record is broken. Simone Faggioli (ITA) has already brought the victory home four times in a row. This year he surpassed his own record of 2010 with a time of 1: 55: 3